2024 Preservation Award Nominations


The Wasserman Residence received a 2018 Preservation Award. Photo credit: Christopher Launi

Long Beach Heritage invites you to submit nominations for the 2024 Preservation Awards, to be presented in late May 2024.

The aim of these awards, which have been presented each year since 1988, is to recognize the growing strength and diversity of historic preservation in Long Beach. Membership in Long Beach Heritage is not a requirement to submit a nomination. To be eligible, projects must be located in Long Beach and should conform to the Secretary of Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties. Projects should also be completed within one year of submission.

Nomination Process

Step 2

Submit nominations by February 29, 2024 by 5pm via email or print and mail to Long Beach Heritage, PO Box 92521, Long Beach, CA 90809

Step 3

An independent jury of preservationists and architects will review nominations and select the most representative examples

Preservation Award Categories  (The jury will help to determine appropriate categories)

1.  Preservation -includes the process of sustaining the form and extent of a property, as it now exists. Preservation strives to halt further deterioration and provide structural stability but does not involve significant rebuilding, restoration or rehabilitation.

2.  Restoration – represents the process of accurately recovering the form, significant features and details of a property as these appeared at a particular period in time by removing later work and reconstructing missing original features. The emphasis is on historic accuracy.

3.  Rehabilitation – defined as the act or process of making possible the continued historic use, a compatible new use, or an adaptive reuse of a property through repair, alteration, and additions while preserving those portions or features that convey its historical, cultural or architectural values.

4.  Reconstruction – includes the act or process of depicting, by means of new construction, a non-surviving site, landscape, building, structure or object to replicate its appearance at a specific period of time and in its historic location. Emphasis is on historical accuracy, materials and finishes.

5.  Contextual In-Fill – includes compatible freestanding new construction, adjacent or in relation to, existing historic structures. Such work should reflect the compatibility of new work with historic structures in regard to matters of massing, size, scale, architectural features of the property’s character and its contextual surroundings.

6.  Sustainability – recognizes projects that successfully and compatibly apply innovative technologies, sustainable design and/or practices to historic structures or sites, which promote environmentally friendly design, materials and energy conservation, and an improved quality of life.

7.  Cultural Resource Studies – includes creative, innovative and precedent-setting approaches to technological and preservation planning issues, cultural educational awareness or advancement. Projects submitted for this award may include, but are not limited to: architectural or historical inventories and surveys, historic structure reports, register nominations, computer software, planning studies, research papers, film/video/photo documentaries and historic preservation elements of general plans.

8.  Craftsmanship/Preservation Technology – recognizes outstanding workmanship carried out in a project such as those specified above and may be submitted under one of those categories, or for the craftsmanship award. This award honors excellence in craftsmanship pertaining to a single element of an overall project such as stained glass restoration, duplication of historic wall finish or mural, wrought iron, carpentry, stonework, etc.

9.  Interpretive Exhibits – recognizes projects that provide or integrate exhibits that offer information about an historic feature or site. Eligible projects may include interpretation of features or sites that bring to life the people, construction techniques, materials, or events associated with the subject.


Karen Highberger was a past Preservationist of the Year
Alan Pullman and Michael Bohn (Studio One Eleven) received an award for Excellence in Architecture

Preservationist of the Year

Awarded to an individual who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to the preservation movement and Long Beach’s cultural heritage.

Excellence in Architecture

Awarded to an architect or architectural firm whose work has had an outstanding influence on Long Beach’s built environment.